five Kingdoms

Buganda. Busoga. Bunyoro. Toro. Ankole

Discover uganda's five indigenous kingdoms

Immerse in the local cultures

Explore the traditional kingdoms of Uganda along the Nile, and discover the culture, traditions and heritage of the indigenous monarchies and their people. Journey through the kingdoms, and experience the history, natural beauty and nature that resides within each.

Visit the kingdoms on the Nile

Uganda has five indigenous kingdoms, dating back to at least the fourteenth century. Visit each of the kingdoms, and learn their history and culture, while exploring the landscapes, foods and wildlife that each has to offer, from the source of the Nile in Busoga to the Mountains of the Moon in Toro.

Where are they?

Buganda and Busoga are on Lake Victoria, divided by the Nile. Bunyoro is below Murchison Falls National Park, along Lake Albert. Further down are the Rwenzori Mountain range, in whose shadow Toro sits. To the south west is the ancient kingdom of Ankole.

Journey Highlights


The palaces of four reigning kings

Buganda, Busoga, Bunyoro and Toro all have sitting kings – cultural figureheads – and we visit their palaces


Visit the source of the river nile

The Nile is a geographical landmark that has acted as the dividing line between two kingdoms


Toro's Crater Lakes

See the 72 crater lakes along the Albertine Rift Valley. Created 8,000 to 10,000 years ago by volcanic explosions, the indents that remained filled with rain water, creating crater lakes


Bird Watch on the Royal Mile

the stretch on Budongo forest is renowned for its birds, with over 350 species, including eagles, kingfishers and hornbill


The Big 5

Queen Elizabeth National Park in Ankole and Toro kingdoms is home to lions, elephants, buffalos, rhinos and giraffes

Discover Culture

Travel through the traditional kingdoms in Uganda, and discover our royalty