All About Uganda's Great Lakes

Africa’s Great lakes are a series of fresh water bodies within the Rift Valley. The lakes are: Lake Victoria, Lake Albert, Lake Edward, Lake Kivu, Lake Malawi, Lake Tanganyika, and Lake Turkana. Lake Victoria is the largest of the Great Lakes, and is the second largest freshwater lake in the world, after North America’s Lake Superior, based on surface area. Lake Tanganyika is the second largest in terms of depth and volume of water.

The Great Lakes region are the countries that border the Great Lakes, and these are Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Lake Victoria, Lake Albert and Lake Edward are all within Uganda, and they are the only Great Lakes that flow into the White Nile, leading some to consider them the only Great Lakes. All three lakes are named after members of the British royal family by the explorers who came to Uganda in the nineteenth century.

Both Lake Tanganyika and Lake Kivu both flow into the Congo River, and Lake Malawi is drained by the Shire River, which flows into the Zambezi. There is no outlet for Lake Turkana.